The Winners From the Independent Spirit Awards 2019

The Winners From the Independent Spirit Awards 2019
Film Independent / Twitter

The most awaited award show of the year, The Independent Spirit Awards 2019, took place this Sunday, February 24. The award show was held at Santa Monica Pier in Los Angeles. The show was hosted by the Legion star, Aubrey Plaza, sponsored by Fiji Water and was premiered on IFC.

Most of the infamous celebrities from Hollywood marked their presence on the event. The most deserving nominees claimed the awards. Glenn Close got the award for the Best female lead in The Wife, as well as Ethan Hawke, got Best Male lead in First Reformed. The whole list of winners in several categories is listed:

Best Feature
Eighth Grade
First Reformed
Leave No Trace
You Were Never Really Here
If Beale Street Could Talk (WINNER)

Best First Feature
The Tale
We The Animals
Sorry To Bother You (WINNER)

Best Director
Debra Granik, Leave No Trace
Tamara Jenkins, Private Life
Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here
Paul Schrader, First Reformed
Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk (WINNER)

Best Screenplay
Richard Glatzer, Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland, Colette
Tamara Jenkins, Private Life
Boots Riley, Sorry To Bother You
Paul Schrader, First Reformed
Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me? (WINNER)

John Cassavetes Award
A Bread Factory
Never Goin’ Back
Thunder Road
En El Septimo Dia (WINNER)

Best First Screenplay
Christina Choe, Nancy
Cory Finley, Thoroughbreds
Jennifer Fox, the Tale
Quinn Shepherd and Laurie Shepherd, Blame
Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade (WINNER)

Best Editing
Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates & Jeremiah Zagar, We the Animals
Luke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill & Julian Hart, American Animals
Anne Fabini, Alex Hall & Gary Levy, the Tale
Nick Houy, Mid90s
Joe Bini, You Were Never Really There (WINNER)

Best Cinematography
Ashley Connor, Madeline’s Madeline
Diego Garcia, Wildlife
Benjamin Loeb, Mandy
Zak Mulligan, We the Animals
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Suspiria (WINNER)

Best Female Lead
Toni Collette, Hereditary
Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade
Regina Hall, Support the Girls
Helena Howard, Madeline’s Madeline
Carey Mulligan, Wildlife
Glenn Close, The Wife (WINNER)

Best Male Lead
John Cho, Searching
Daveed Diggs, Blindspotting
Christian Malheiros, Socrates
Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really There
Ethan Hawke, First Reformed (WINNER)

Best Supporting Female
Kayli Carter, Private Life
Tyne Daly, A Bread Factory
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace
Smith-Cameron, Nancy
Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk (WINNER)

Best Supporting Male
Raul Castillo, We the Animals
Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman
Josh Hamilton, Eighth Grade
John David Washington, Monsters and Men
Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me? (WINNER)

Best Documentary
Hale Country This Morning, This Evening
Minding the Gap
Of Fathers and Sons
On Her Shoulders
Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (WINNER)

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed